Becoming Stronger: The Mind (Part 4)

“Set a goal so big that you can’t achieve it until you grow into the person who can.” ~Unknown

I printed this quote and taped it to the wall behind and to the left of my monitor. The man in the image is pensive, determined in thought. I know exactly how he feels.

I have goals. I have all the professionally suggested short-term, mid-term and long-term goals. Some of them are relatively easy to accomplish: sew an Old Norse apron dress. Buying the fabric and notions is easy, just fit it into the budget. Then, I have to manage my time to complete it by a specific date (that’s the important part to a S.M.A.R.T. goal). Easy enough. Others I do not have much time control over, such as completing my graduate degree, but I need to manage my time and put forth my best effort to ensure learning and graduation by a specific date.

My long-term goals, however, prove to be the most challenging for me.

I have a dream of living a lifestyle similar to Old Norse culture of the Viking era, perhaps even pre-Viking era. I also dream of traveling the world, experiencing cultures in the time frame I choose, free to move whenever I feel like it, kind of like a Viking, only I won’t be raiding. Being debt free is essential so that I don’t have many bills to worry about. In my mind, I have set a goal so big, I have no choice but to become the person who can achieve it.

As you know, in becoming Friða Káradóttir, I am determined to learn the Old Norse language. The word of the day in English: mind. In Old Norse, there are different ways to describe the many aspects of “mind.” Perhaps the terms that stand out the most on my quest are hugr and munr.

From what I understand, hugr is our intuition and our thoughts. It’s how we think through things, analyzing and planning. Hugr helps us to foster understanding. We use it to set goals and develop strategies to achieve them. Munr is the seat of one’s emotions and will.

Much of our inner strength comes from the ability to override and confront doubt and fear, to combat the negative thoughts. Well, beyond that, really. It comes from the ability to acknowledge the fears and find ways to address them. When you understand why the doubts and fears exist, you will find the strength, bravery, and courage to accomplish your tasks and goals.

“Set a goal so big that you can’t achieve it until you grow into the person who can.”

My goals to travel the world and live a lifestyle abnormal to common modern society are huge in my mind. It means there are some fears I must confront. It means there people in my life who will not understand. It means I will need to make drastic changes in my life to become the stronger person able to accomplish such a goal.

May you find the inner strength to believe you are more than capable of being anything you want to be, to experience anything you can fathom.

Leave a Reply

