Do More Than Just Exist

Goldie and Jim

Do more than just exist.

Thrive! Abound! Flourish!

I recently came across this photo of my maternal grandparents. They look so happy, having a great time with friends. I’m not sure when this was taken, but I’d say in the mid-1930s, simply because my mother was born in 1939. The thirties is not exactly known for being the most prosperous and exciting decade in relatively recent history, and yet one would never know that simply by looking at this picture. History books would have us focus on the images and stories that captured the struggle most faced during the Great Depression. Yet what is captured here is people doing more than merely existing. It is in my blood to do more than just exist!

Speaking of bloodlines…

This is my first post on this blog. I suppose I should explain what I mean by “Becoming Friða Káradóttir”. Friða Káradóttir is a Nordic (aka Viking) persona I’d like to become through participating in medieval recreation (more on that some other time). My real ancestry includes Welsh, British, Scandinavian, and Finnish on the maternal side, and mostly German on the paternal side. I am passionately intrigued by the Viking era and Norse spirituality. This is an intricate part of becoming Friða.

Recently, I came across a quote that said, “Maybe the journey isn’t about becoming anything. Maybe it’s about unbecoming everything that isn’t really you, so you can be who you were meant to be in the first place.” This spoke volumes to me. Nine months ago, I realized there were so many things about myself and my life that simply just did not belong. I began a journey that I now know was unbecoming what I had become. Just before Christmas, I ended one chapter–learning to get out of my comfort zone–and a new one was about to begin. I was in limbo for a month or so…fearing the inevitable, not ready for the changes that needed to be made.

What was I so afraid of? Feeling.

“What were you afraid to feel? Why were you afraid to feel?” I’m so glad you asked!

Everything. I was afraid to feel everything.

Little by little, I have confronted this fear. In order to flourish, I knew I had to let myself feel what I was afraid to feel. I had to understand how and why I, as an empath, can feel what others feel. Perhaps I will go into detail about feeling in a future post…

For now, let us focus on doing more than just existing! This means you have to FEEL things. Have passion. Have ambition. Push aside your fears and step outside of your comfort zone. Learn something new. Ask questions. Listen to the answers. 

Flourishing on this journey affords opportunities to be. And so, I chose a persona–a Norsewoman who lived during the 7th century–to help me become me. I do more than just exist. Do you?